45,216
edits
(→Notes: tancoia, tankoya) |
m (→Notes) |
||
Line 2: | Line 2: | ||
==Notes== | ==Notes== | ||
''Takao'', ''Tancoia'', ''Tankoya'', former names of modern-day [[Køhioong]], originates from the [[Makatao]] language of the local aboriginal tribe and translates as "bamboo forest". Founded near the end of the Ming Dynasty ([[ | ''Takao'', ''Tancoia'', ''Tankoya'', former names of modern-day [[Køhioong]], originates from the [[Makatao]] language of the local aboriginal tribe and translates as "bamboo forest". Founded near the end of the Ming Dynasty ([[Beeng-tiaau]]) in the 17th century, the village was known as ''Tvafkao'' in the Hoklo language ([[Høxlør-oe]]) spoken by most of the early immigrants. The Harnji for ''Tvafkao'' literally meant "to beat a dog". | ||
In 1895, Taiwan was ceded to Japan as part of the [[Treaty of Shimonoseki]]. In 1920, the city’s name was changed to ''Køhioong'' ({{jid|高雄|Takao}}). After control of Taiwan was handed to the [[Tionghoaa Binkog|Republic of China]] in 1945, the official romanization of the city name came to be “Kaohsiung”, based on the [[Wade-Giles]] romanization of the [[Standard Mandarin]] reading of the kanji name. | In 1895, Taiwan was ceded to Japan as part of the [[Treaty of Shimonoseki]]. In 1920, the city’s name was changed to ''Køhioong'' ({{jid|高雄|Takao}}). After control of Taiwan was handed to the [[Tionghoaa Binkog|Republic of China]] in 1945, the official romanization of the city name came to be “Kaohsiung”, based on the [[Wade-Giles]] romanization of the [[Standard Mandarin]] reading of the kanji name. |
edits